Film Award

British Academy Film Awards (BAFTA) 2011: Nominations: INCEPTION, BLACK SWAN

Leonardo DiCaprio, Inception

Inception, Black Swan, and the other nominations for the 2011 British Academy Film Awards (BAFTA) have been announced. The British Academy Film Awards are “presented in an annual award show hosted by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts…[and are used for] rewarding the best work of any nationality seen on British cinema screens during the preceding year…as well as excellence in…television, television craft, video games and forms of animation.” The awards show will take place on February 13, 2011. The full listing of the 2011 British Academy Film Awards (BAFTA) nominations is below.

Best Film Nominees:

Black Swan (2010)

Inception (2010)

The King’s Speech (2010)

The Social Network (2010)

True Grit (2010)

Alexander Korda Award for Outstanding British Film of the Year Nominees:

127 Hours (2010)

Another Year (2010)

Four Lions (2010)

The King’s Speech (2010)

Made in Dagenham (2010)

Best Actor Nominees:

Javier Bardem for Biutiful (2010)

Jeff Bridges for True Grit (2010)

Jesse Eisenberg for The Social Network (2010)

Colin Firth for The King’s Speech (2010)

James Franco for 127 Hours (2010)

Best Actress Nominees:

Annette Bening for The Kids Are All Right (2010)

Julianne Moore for The Kids Are All Right (2010)

Natalie Portman for Black Swan (2010)

Noomi Rapace for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2009)

Hailee Steinfeld for True Grit (2010)

Best Supporting Actor Nominees:

Christian Bale for The Fighter (2010)

Andrew Garfield for The Social Network (2010)

Pete Postlethwaite for The Town (2010)

Mark Ruffalo for The Kids Are All Right (2010)

Geoffrey Rush for The King’s Speech (2010)

Best Supporting Actress Nominees:

Amy Adams for The Fighter (2010)

Helena Bonham Carter for The King’s Speech (2010)

Barbara Hershey for Black Swan (2010)

Lesley Manville for Another Year (2010)

Miranda Richardson for Made in Dagenham (2010) David Lean Award for Achievement in Direction Nominees:

Darren Aronofsky for Black Swan (2010)

Danny Boyle for 127 Hours (2010)

David Fincher for The Social Network (2010)

Tom Hooper for The King’s Speech (2010)

Christopher Nolan for Inception (2010)

Best Screenplay (Original) Nominees:

Black Swan (2010): Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz, John J. McLaughlin

The Fighter (2010): Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy, Eric Johnson

Inception (2010): Christopher Nolan

The Kids Are All Right (2010): Lisa Cholodenko, Stuart Blumberg

The King’s Speech (2010): David Seidler

Best Screenplay (Adapted) Nominees:

127 Hours (2010): Danny Boyle, Simon Beaufoy

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2009): Rasmus Heisterberg, Nikolaj Arcel

The Social Network (2010): Aaron Sorkin

Toy Story 3 (2010): Michael Arndt

True Grit (2010): Joel Coen, Ethan Coen

Best Cinematography Nominees:

127 Hours (2010): Anthony Dod Mantle, Enrique Chediak

Black Swan (2010): Matthew Libatique

Inception (2010): Wally Pfister

The King’s Speech (2010): Danny Cohen

True Grit (2010): Roger Deakins

Best Editing Nominees:

127 Hours (2010): Jon Harris

Black Swan (2010): Andrew Weisblum

Inception (2010): Lee Smith

The King’s Speech (2010): Tariq Anwar

The Social Network (2010): Angus Wall, Kirk Baxter

Best Production Design Nominees:

Alice in Wonderland (2010): Robert Stromberg, Karen O’Hara

Black Swan (2010): Thérèse DePrez, Tora Peterson

Inception (2010): Guy Hendrix Dyas, Larry Dias, Douglas A. Mowat

The King’s Speech (2010): Eve Stewart, Judy Farr

True Grit (2010): Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh

Best Costume Design Nominees:

Alice in Wonderland (2010): Colleen Atwood

Black Swan (2010): Amy Westcott

The King’s Speech (2010): Jenny Beavan

Made in Dagenham (2010): Louise Stjernsward

True Grit (2010): Mary Zophres

Anthony Asquith Award for Film Music Nominees:

127 Hours (2010): A.R. Rahman

Alice in Wonderland (2010): Danny Elfman

How to Train Your Dragon (2010): John Powell

Inception (2010): Hans Zimmer

The King’s Speech (2010): Alexandre Desplat

Best Make Up/Hair Nominees:

Alice in Wonderland (2010)

Black Swan (2010)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 (2010)

The King’s Speech (2010)

Made in Dagenham (2010)

Best Sound Nominees:

127 Hours (2010)

Black Swan (2010)

Inception (2010)

The King’s Speech (2010)

True Grit (2010)

Best Achievement in Special Visual Effects Nominees:

Alice in Wonderland (2010)

Black Swan (2010)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 (2010)

Inception (2010)

Toy Story 3 (2010)

Best Film not in the English Language Nominees:

Biutiful (2010)

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2009)

I Am Love (2009)

Of Gods and Men (2010)

The Secret in Their Eyes (2009)

Best Animated Feature Film Nominees:

Despicable Me (2010)

How to Train Your Dragon (2010)

Toy Story 3 (2010)

Orange Rising Star Award Nominees:

Gemma Arterton

Andrew Garfield

Tom Hardy

Aaron Johnson

Emma Stone

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer Nominees:

The Arbor (2010): Clio Barnard, Tracy O’Riordan(Director, Producer)

Exit Through the Gift Shop (2010): Banksy, Jaimie D’Cruz(Director, Producer)

Four Lions (2010): Christopher Morris(Director/Writer)

Monsters (2010): Gareth Edwards(Director/Writer)

Skeletons (2010): Nick Whitfield(Director/Writer)

Best Short Animation Nominees:

The Eagleman Stag (2010)

Matter Fisher (2010)


Best Short Film Nominees:

Connect (2010/I)

Lin (2010)

Rite (2010)

Turning (2010)

Until the River Runs Red (2010)

Source: IMDb

Related Articles:


About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started FilmBook during an eCommerce B-School course in 2008. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook, he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He has also created and Trending

Send this to a friend