Film Festival Movie News

Cannes Film Festival 2014: Official & Short Film 67th Annual Lineup

Cannes Film Festival 2014 Poster

The official selection and short film lineup for the 2014 Cannes Film Festival has been announced. The 67th Annual Cannes Film Festival (le Festival de Cannes), ”founded in 1946, is one of the world’s oldest and most prestigious film festivals. The private festival is held annually (usually in May) at the Palais des Festivals et des Congrès, in the resort town of Cannes, in the south of France…The President of the Jury is American actor Robert De Niro.” This year’s Cannes Film Festival will be held from May 16, 2012 to May 27, 2012.

The full listing of the Opening Film, Competition, Un Certain Regard, Out of Competition, Midnight Screenings, and Special Screenings for the 2014 Cannes Film Festival is below:

Goodbye to Language – dir. Jean-Luc Godard
The Captive – dir. Atom Egoyan
Clouds of Sils Maria – dir. Olivier Assayas
Foxcatcher – dir. Bennett Miller
The Homesman – dir. Tommy Lee Jones
Jimmy’s Hall – dir. Ken Loach
The Marvel – dir. Alice Rohrwacher
Leviathan – dir. Andrei Zvyaginstev
Maps to the Stars – dir. David Cronenberg
Mommy – dir. Xavier Dolan
Mr. Turner – dir. Mike Leigh
Saint Laurent – dir. Bertrand Bonello
The Search – dir. Michel Hazanavicius
Still the Water – dir. Naomi Kawase
Timbuktu – dir. Abderrahmane Sissako
Two Days, One Night – dir. Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne
Wild Tales – dir. Damian Szifron
Winter Sleep – dir. Nuri Bilge Ceylan

Grace of Monaco – dir. Olivier Dahan

Coming Home – dir. Zhang Yimou
How to Train Your Dragon 2 – dir. Dean DeBlois

Party Girl – dirs. Marie Amachoukeli-Barsacq, Claire Burger, Samuel Theis
Amour Fou – dir. Jessica Hausner
Bird People – dir. Pascale Ferran
The Blue Room – dir. Mathieu Amalric
Charlie’s Country – dir. Rolf de Heer
A Girl at My Door – dir. July Jung
Eleanor Rigby – dir. Ned Benson
Fantasia – dir. Wang Chao
Harcheck mi Headro – dir. Keren Yedaya
Unhappy Youth – dir. Jaime Rosales
Incompresa – dir. Asia Argento
Jauja – dir. Lisandro Alonso
Lost River – dir. Ryan Gosling
Run – dir. Philippe Lacote
Salt of the Earth – dirs. Wim Wenders & Juliano Ribeiro Salgado
Snow in Paradise – dir. Andrew Hulme
Titli – dir. Kanu Behl
Tourist – dir. Ruben Ostlund
Xenia – dir. Panos Koutras

The Rover – dir. David Michod
The Salvation – dir. Kristian Levring
The Target – dir. Yoon Hong-seung

Bridges of Sarajevo – various directors
Eau Argentee – dir. Mohammed Ossama
Maidan – dir. Sergei Loznitsa
Red Army – dir. Polsky Gabe
Caricaturists: Fantasies Of Democracy – dir. Stephanie Valloatto
Les Gens du Monde – dir. Yves Jeuland

The full listing of the Official Short Films for the 2014 Cannes Film Festival is below:


dir: Giovanni Aloi (Italy)

The Administration Of Glory
dir: Ran Huang (China)

Invisible Spaces
dir: Dea Kulumbegashvili (Georgia)

dirs: Sato Masiko, Ohara Takayoshi, Seki Yutaro, Toyota Masayuki, Hirase Kentaro (Japan)

dir: Simón Mesa Soto (Colombia/UK)

The Last One
dir: Sergey Pikalov (Azerbaijan)

The Execution
dir: Petra Szocs (Hungary/Romania)

dir: Clément Trehin-Lalanne (France)

Les Corps Etrangers
dir: Laura Wandel (Belgium)

Yes We Love
dir: Hallvar Witzo (Norway)


Our Blood
dir: Max Chan, (Hampshire College, U.S.)

Home Sweet Home
dirs: Pierre Clenet, Alejandro Diaz, Romain Mazevet, Stéphane Paccolat (Supinfocom Arles, France)

The Aftermath of the Inauguration Of The Public Toilet At Kilometer 375
dir: Omar El Zohairy (High Cinema Institute, Academy of Arts, Egypt)

Stone Cars
dir: Reinaldo Marcus Green (NYU Tisch School of the Arts, US)

Last Trip Home
dir: Han Fengyu (Ngee Ann Polytechnic, Singapore)

A Radiant Life
dir: Meryll Hardy (Le Fresnoy, France)

dir: Chie Hayakawa (ENBU Seminar, Japan)

Oh Lucy!
dir: Atsuko Hirayanagi (NYU Tisch School of the Arts Asia, Singapore)

The Visit
dir: Inbar Horesh (Minshar for Art, School and Center, Israel)

Moonless Summer
dir: Stefan Ivancic (Faculty of Dramatic Arts, Serbia)

The Bigger Picture
dir: Daisy Jacobs (National Film and Television School, UK)

dir: György Mór Karpati (University of Theatre and Film Arts, Hungary)

dir: Kwon Hyun-ju (Chung-Ang University, South Korea)

dir: Léa Mysius (La Fémis, France)

dir: Fulvio Risuelo (Centro Sperimentale di Cinematografia, Italy)

dir: Annie Silverstein (The University of Texas at Austin, US)

Leave your thoughts on the 2014 Cannes Film Festival awards winners below in the comments section. For more Cannes Film Festival news, photos, videos, and information, visit our Cannes Film Festival Page, subscribe to us by Email, “follow” us on Twitter, Tumblr, or “like” on Facebook.

Source: Screendaily, Firstshowing, Cannes

Related Articles:


About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started FilmBook during an eCommerce B-School course in 2008. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook, he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He has also created and Trending

Send this to a friend