Movie News

Chicago International Film Festival 2010: Award Winners


The award winners for the 2010 Chicago International Film Festival have been announced. The 46th Annual Chicago International Film Festival is “an annual film festival that is presented by Cinema/Chicago which was founded by Michael Kutza in 1964. First held in 1965, it is one of North America’s oldest film events. It is held every October. The International Connections Program was created in 2003 in order to raise awareness of the international film culture and diversity of Chicago, and to make the festival more appealing to audience and staff of various ethnicities.” The festival ran from October 7, 2010 to October  21, 2010. The full listing of the award winners for the 2010 Chicago International Film Festival is below.

Main Competition

The Gold Hugo for Best Film: How I Ended the Summer (Russia), directed by Aleksei Popogrebsky

The Silver Hugo – Special Jury Award: A Somewhat Gentle Man (Norway), directed by Hans Petter Moland

The Silver Hugo – Special Jury Award: We Are What We Are (Mexico), directed by Jorge Michel Grau

The Silver Hugo – Best Actor: Youssouf Djaoro of A Screaming Man (France/Belgium/Chad)

The Silver Hugo – Best Actress: Liana Liberato of Trust (USA)

The Silver Hugo: Brother & Sister (Argentina), directed by Daniel Burman

The Silver Hugo – Best Screenplay: Mahamat-Saleh Haroun of A Screaming Man (France/Belgium/Chad)

Gold Plaque: Márta Mészáros in recognition of her career in international cinema, on the occasion of Last Report on Anna (Hungary)

Silver Plaque: The Matchmaker (Israel), directed by Avi Nesher

StarNew Directors Competition

The Gold Hugo: Shahada (Germany), directed by Burhan Qurbani

The Silver Hugo: Norman (USA), directed by Jonathan Segal

Gold Plaque: Erratum (Poland), directed by Marek Lechki

StarDocufest Competition

The Gold Hugo: Beautiful Darling (USA), directed by James Rasin

The Silver Hugo: The Minutemen (USA), directed by Corey Wascinski

Gold Plaque: Moving to Mars (UK/Thailand), directed by Mat Whitecross

Silver Plaque: Sex Magic (USA), directed by Jonathan Schell, Eric Liebman

StarShort Film Competition

The Gold Hugo: Deeper Than Yesterday (Australia), directed by Ariel Kleiman

The Silver Hugo:The Swimmers (Cuba), directed by Carlos Lechuga

Gold Plaque: Grandmothers (Brazil), directed by Michael Wahrmann

Gold Plaque: The Descent (Israel), directed by Shai Miedzinski

Silver Plaque – Best Animation: Stanley Pickle (UK), directed by Victoria Mather

Source: AltFilmGuide

Related Articles:


About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started FilmBook during an eCommerce B-School course in 2008. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook, he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He has also created and Trending

Send this to a friend