Movie News

Oscar 2011: Foreign Language Film Entries


The Foreign Language Film Entries for the 2011 Academy Awards have been announced. The 83rd Annual Academy Awards presentation will “host Sixty-five countries, including first-time entrants Ethiopia and Greenland, … for consideration in the Foreign Language Film category.” Only Academy members who have seen all five selected nominees from the entries can vote in this category. “The 83rd Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Tuesday, January 25, 2011, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater. Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2010 will be presented on Sunday, February 27, 2011.” The full listing of all the entries for the 2011 Foreign Language Film Academy Award is below.

The 2010 submissions are:

  • Albania, “East, West, East,” Gjergj Xhuvani, director;
  • Algeria, “Hors la Loi” (“Outside the Law”), Rachid Bouchareb, director;
  • Argentina, “Carancho,” Pablo Trapero, director;
  • Austria, “La Pivellina,” Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel, directors;
  • Azerbaijan, “The Precinct,” Ilgar Safat, director;
  • Bangladesh, “Third Person Singular Number,” Mostofa Sarwar Farooki, director;
  • Belgium, “Illegal,” Olivier Masset-Depasse, director;
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina, “Circus Columbia,” Danis Tanovic, director;
  • Brazil, “Lula, the Son of Brazil,” Fabio Barreto, director;
  • Bulgaria, “Eastern Plays,” Kamen Kalev, director;
  • Canada, “Incendies,” Denis Villeneuve, director;
  • Chile, “The Life of Fish,” Matias Bize, director;
  • China, “Aftershock,” Feng Xiaogang, director;
  • Colombia, “Crab Trap,” Oscar Ruiz Navia, director;
  • Costa Rica, “Of Love and Other Demons,” Hilda Hidalgo, director;
  • Croatia, “The Blacks,” Goran Devic and Zvonimir Juric, directors;
  • Czech Republic, “Kawasaki’s Rose,” Jan Hrebejk, director;
  • Denmark, “In a Better World,” Susanne Bier, director;
  • Egypt, “Messages from the Sea,” Daoud Abdel Sayed, director;
  • Estonia, “The Temptation of St. Tony,” Veiko Ounpuu, director;
  • Ethiopia, “The Athlete,” Davey Frankel and Rasselas Lakew, directors;
  • Finland, “Steam of Life,” Joonas Berghall and Mika Hotakainen, directors;
  • France, “Of Gods and Men,” Xavier Beauvois, director;
  • Georgia, “Street Days,” Levan Koguashvili, director;
  • Germany, “When We Leave,” Feo Aladag, director;
  • Greece, “Dogtooth,” Yorgos Lanthimos, director;
  • Greenland, “Nuummioq,” Otto Rosing and Torben Bech, directors;
  • Hong Kong, “Echoes of the Rainbow,” Alex Law, director;
  • Hungary, “Bibliotheque Pascal,” Szabolcs Hajdu, director;
  • Iceland, “Mamma Gogo,” Fridrik Thor Fridriksson, director;
  • India, “Peepli [Live],” Anusha Rizvi, director;
  • Indonesia, “How Funny (Our Country Is),” Deddy Mizwar, director;
  • Iran, “Farewell Baghdad,” Mehdi Naderi, director;
  • Iraq, “Son of Babylon,” Mohamed Al-Daradji, director;
  • Israel, “The Human Resources Manager,” Eran Riklis, director;
  • Italy, “La Prima Cosa Bella” (“The First Beautiful Thing”), Paolo Virzi, director;
  • Japan, “Confessions,” Tetsuya Nakashima, director;
  • Kazakhstan, “Strayed,” Akan Satayev, director;
  • Korea, “A Barefoot Dream,” Tae-kyun Kim, director;
  • Kyrgyzstan, “The Light Thief,” Aktan Arym Kubat, director;
  • Latvia, “Hong Kong Confidential,” Maris Martinsons, director;
  • Macedonia, “Mothers,” Milcho Manchevski, director;
  • Mexico, “Biutiful,” Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, director;
  • Netherlands, “Tirza,” Rudolf van den Berg, director;
  • Nicaragua, “La Yuma,” Florence Jaugey, director;
  • Norway, “The Angel,” Margreth Olin, director;
  • Peru, “Undertow” (“Contracorriente”), Javier Fuentes-Leon, director;
  • Philippines, “Noy,” Dondon S. Santos and Rodel Nacianceno, directors;
  • Poland, “All That I Love,” Jacek Borcuch, director;
  • Portugal, “To Die Like a Man,” Joao Pedro Rodrigues, director;
  • Puerto Rico, “Miente” (“Lie”), Rafael Mercado, director;
  • Romania, “If I Want to Whistle, I Whistle,” Florin Serban, director;
  • Russia, “The Edge,” Alexey Uchitel, director;
  • Serbia, “Besa,” Srdjan Karanovic, director;
  • Slovakia, “Hranica” (“The Border”), Jaroslav Vojtek, director;
  • Slovenia, “9:06,” Igor Sterk, director;
  • South Africa, “Life, above All,” Oliver Schmitz, director;
  • Spain, “Tambien la Lluvia” (“Even the Rain”), Iciar Bollain, director;
  • Sweden, “Simple Simon,” Andreas Ohman, director;
  • Switzerland, “La Petite Chambre,” Stephanie Chuat and Veronique Reymond, directors;
  • Taiwan, “Monga,” Chen-zer Niu, director;
  • Thailand, “Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives,” Apichatpong Weerasethakul, director;
  • Turkey, “Bal” (“Honey”), Semih Kaplanoglu, director;
  • Uruguay, “La Vida Util,” Federico Veiroj, director;
  • Venezuela, “Hermano,” Marcel Rasquin, director.

Source: Oscars

Related Articles:


About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started FilmBook during an eCommerce B-School course in 2008. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook, he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He has also created and Trending

Send this to a friend