Movie News

Oscar 2011: Francis Ford Coppola, Jean-Luc Goddard, Eli Wallach, Kevin Brownlow to receive special Awards


The 83rd Academy Awards presentation will honor Francis Ford CoppolaJean-Luc Goddard, Eli Wallach, Kevin Brownlow with special honors. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science, through

the New York Times’ Arts Beat revealed Francis Ford Coppola will be receiving the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, an award given to “a creative producer whose body of work reflects a consistently high quality of motion picture production.” Meanwhile, other honorary Oscars will also be given to French filmmaker Jean-Luc Goddard (Breathless), actor Eli Wallach (The Good, the Bad, the Ugly) and film preservationist Kevin Brownlow.

Francis Ford Coppola’s Apocalypse Now is one of the best war movies ever made. Jean-Luc Goddard is a film noir legend and French New Wave pioneer.

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences reached their decision last night. All four awards will be presented at the Academy’s 2nd Annual Governors Awards dinner on Saturday, November 13, at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center.

In the last few years, the people some of the Academy Awards have chosen to bestow statutes on have been dubious but these special awards seem spot on.

Source: Firstshowing, AltFilmGuide

Related Articles:


About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started FilmBook during an eCommerce B-School course in 2008. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook, he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He has also created and Trending

Send this to a friend