Film Award

Washington Area Film Critics Awards 2010: Winners: THE SOCIAL NETWORK

Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network, 2010

The winners for the 2010 Washington Area Film Critics Awards (WAFCA) have been announced. No big surprise the critic’s darling – The Social Network – took home the top prizes for best film, best director, and best adapted screenplay.

Colin Firth, who was nominated last year for A Single Man, won Best Actor this year for The King’s Speech. Newcomer Jennifer Lawrence, who dazzled early in the year, took home Best Actress for her role in Winter’s Bone.

The Fighter swept both Supporting Actor categories with awards given to Christian Bale as a drug addled ex-boxer and Melissa Leo as his controlling mother. Best Acting Ensemble went to The Town, director Ben Affleck’s Boston crime drama.

“This was easily the most competitive ballot in the history of our association,” said Tim Gordon, WAFCA president. “We have never had so many tight races. It just goes to show how popular several of these categories were with all of our members.”

Best Documentary went to British street artist Banksy’s Exit Through the Gift Shop, Best Foreign Film was awarded to Alejandro González Iñárritu’s Biutiful, and Toy Story 3 pushed past several strong contenders for Best Animated Feature. In other categories, Inception scored big, winning Best Original Screenplay (Christopher Nolan), Best Cinematography (Wally Pfister), Best Art Direction (Luke Freeborn, Brad Ricker and Dean Wolcott), and Best Score (Hans Zimmer).

The Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association is comprised of 39 DC-VA-MD-based film critics from television, radio, print and the Internet. Voting was conducted from December 3-5, 2010.

The full listing of the 2010 Washington Area Film Critics Awards winners are presented below.

Best Film:
The Social Network

Best Director:
David Fincher (The Social Network)

Best Actor:
Colin Firth (The King’s Speech)

Best Actress:
Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone)

Best Supporting Actor:
Christian Bale (The Fighter)

Best Supporting Actress:
Melissa Leo (The Fighter)

Best Acting Ensemble:
The Town

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)

Best Original Screenplay:
Christopher Nolan (Inception)

Best Animated Feature:
Toy Story 3

Best Documentary:
Exit Through the Gift Shop

Best Foreign Language Film:

Best Art Direction:
Luke Freeborn, Brad Ricker and Dean Wolcott (Inception)

Best Cinematography:
Wally Pfister (Inception)

Best Score:
Hans Zimmer (Inception)

Source: Dcfilmcritics

Related Articles:


About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started FilmBook during an eCommerce B-School course in 2008. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook, he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He has also created and Trending

Send this to a friend