Film Award Movie News

Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards 2015: SPOTLIGHT, MAD MAX: FURY ROAD

Michael Keaton Mark Ruffalo Rachel McAdams Spotlight

Spotlight, Mad Max: Fury Road, and the winners for 2015 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards have been announced. The 41st Annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards “present yearly awards to members of the film industry who have excelled in their fields…Because of the promptness of the award presentation, right after the end of the year, the LAFCA awards and the Golden Globe Awards are seen as significant in presaging the winners of the Academy Awards.”

Spotlight getting the top award was no surprise. George Miller getting best director was a total surprise. Miller must be surprised as well but gratified. The best cinematography award was in the bag for Mad Max: Fury Road, as it probably will be for the Oscar. Anomalisa winning indicates to me that that film and Inside Out are going to be slugging it out come Academy Awards time.

The full listing of winners for the 2015 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards:

PICTURE: “Spotlight”
Runner-up: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

DIRECTOR: George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Todd Haynes, “Carol”

ACTOR: Michael Fassbender, “Steve Jobs”
Runner-up: Géza Röhrig, “Son of Saul”

ACTRESS: Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”
Runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn”

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Michael Shannon, “99 Homes”
Runner-up: Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies”

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Alicia Vikander, “Ex Machina”
Runner-up: Kristen Stewart, “Clouds of Sils Maria”

SCREENPLAY: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”
Runner-up: Charlie Kaufman, “Anomalisa”

ANIMATION: “Anomalisa”
Runner-up: “Inside Out”

Runner-up: “The Tribe”

Runner-up: “The Look of Silence”

NEW GENERATION: Ryan Coogler, “Creed”

FILM EDITING: Hank Corwin, “The Big Short”
Runner-up: Margaret Sixel, “Mad Max: Fury Road”

CINEMATOGRAPHY: John Seale, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Edward Lachman, “Carol”

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Colin Gibson, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Runner-up: Judy Becker, “Carol”

MUSIC/SCORE: Carter Burwell, “Anomalisa” and “Carol”
Runner-up: Ennio Morricone, “The Hateful Eight”

SPECIAL CITATION: David Shepard, for his invaluable work in film preservation, particularly of films from the silent era


Leave your thoughts on the 2015 Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards winners below in the comments section. For more Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards news, visit our Film Award Page, our Movie News Google+ Page, and consider subscribing to us by Email, “following” us on Twitter, Tumblr, Google+, or “liking” us on Facebook for quick updates.

Related Articles:


About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started FilmBook during an eCommerce B-School course in 2008. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook, he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He has also created and Trending

Send this to a friend